Skip to main content




Developed by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA), SOC 2 requires establishment and adherence to policies and procedures surrounding the security, availability, processing, integrity and confidentiality of customer data. More specifically, SOC 2 ensures that cybersecurity measures reflect up-to-date cloud requirements.

SOC 2 evaluates organizations on five “trust service principles”:

  1. Security – Does the system safeguard against unauthorized access?
  2. Availability – Is the system (including its products and services) accessible to users?
  3. Processing Integrity – In essence, does the system work? Does it “deliver the right content to the right person at the right time”?
  4. Confidentiality – Does the system assure data is accessible only to authorized parties?
  5. Privacy – Does the system rigorously safeguard and govern the collection, use, retention, disclosure and disposal of personally identifiable information (PII)?

Seeking Clarity?

View the Cybersecurity Dictionary for top terms searched by your peers.

Explore the Dictionary

Related Assets

March 06, 2018

Cybersecurity, Where Art Thou?

Infosecurity Magazine | March 6, 2018 Looking at the existential crisis of when, where, and how much to invest in cybersecurity.

See Details

September 07, 2017

Cybersecurity Executives Changes

SC Media | September 7, 2017 Venafi has named Ben Golub to its board of directors. Golub is currently the executive chairman and interim CEO at Storj...

See Details

How Can We Help?

Let us know what you need, and we will have an Optiv professional contact you shortly.

Privacy Policy

Stay in the Know

For all the latest cybersecurity and Optiv news, subscribe to our blog and connect with us on Social.


Join our Email List

We take your privacy seriously and promise never to share your email with anyone.

Stay Connected

Find cybersecurity Events in your area.